Photos and videos exchanged on Snapchat are meant to disappear after they've been viewed. But even if you set a time limit on viewing the post, there is nothing to stop anyone using another app to copy the post. They could also take a picture of the image on another device.
This is something to make sure your child is aware off, as the content they think is deleted might not be.
Snap streaks are the number of continual days users ‘snap’ or share images or videos with each other.
If you keep sharing continually you receive special emojis next to your name.
Some children can be pressured by their friends to continue the Snap streak, by sharing photos or videos daily.
Snapchat Discover offers content created by advertisers, entertainment celebrities and complete strangers.
Snapchat will filter out content for underage users. If an account has been set up with an incorrect age, then the user could see content that is not suitable for them.
Spotlight is the Snapchat entertainment platform where users can generate their own videos and share is with the Snapchat community. Content on Spotlight is public and can be visible to all Snapchat users.
The family centre
The family centre might be something you'd like to consider setting up to help monitor your child's activity on the app.
It provides information about who they are talking to and what groups they have joined. But you can't see what is being shared or discussed within in these chats or groups.
To set this up you and your child will need to have your own accounts.
Add your child as a friend, you can use the search bar to find their username.
Once they have accepted your friend request you can set up your family centre.
Open the family centre function via the search bar or setting icon.
From the here send your child an invitation to join. They will receive an invitation message and must opt in to activate the feature.
Snapchat has a map function. This allows anyone your child is linked with to see their location.
To check the location setting on an account:
Go to settings in Snapchat.
Scroll down to ‘who can see my location'
Select the appropriate settings.
Turning ghost mode on means your child won’t be visible to anyone else on the Map. To turn Ghost Mode on:
Open the Map
Tap the button at the top of the Map screen.
Toggle ‘Ghost Mode’ to on
Select how long you’d like to enable Ghost Mode – We would suggest selecting 'until switched off'.
Snaps submitted to Snap Map can still show up on the Map, no matter what the location setting are set to.
Snapchat has a range of privacy settings which can be access via the cog icon within the app.
You can find out more about privacy setting on the Snapchat website.